No results.

Holyoke Public Schools Media Center

In the process of archiving and adding new videos. Please check back often for updates.

Great Explorers and Readers (GEAR) Science Literacy Program

The Great Explorers and Readers (GEAR) Science Literacy Program strives to improve science literacy, content knowledge, pedagogy and confidence with science for teachers, administrators and early educators. The program works to provide opportunities for families and their children to learn, play and communicate about science. The overall goal is to improve student success in science literacy and close science and language achievement gaps for children up to eight years old. Major activities include GEAR Science Literacy Content & Pedagogy Workshops for administrators and teachers. Children’s author, Jerry Pallotta, visited Holyoke schools to spark interest in science and reading, and science-related literature w woven throughout the grant. Students will explore and create science resources based on MA curriculum standards and practice research-based teaching approaches.