Here are the videos of the speeches and award presentations at The 91st Annual Meeting of The American Law Institute.

Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr., presented the Friendly Medal to Judge Michael Boudin of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit and Judge Pierre N. Leval of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit. Judge Leval accepted the award for both and spoke of the legacy of Judge Henry Friendly.

Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg presents the Distinguished Service Award to Gerhard Casper, the President Emeritus of Stanford University and an Emeritus member of the ALI Council.

Justice Stephen G. Breyer took to the stage at the close of this year’s Annual Dinner to sit down with outgoing Director Lance Liebman and President Roberta Cooper Ramo for an informal Q&A-style chat.

Judge William A. Fletcher of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit spoke at the closing day luncheon on the topic of The U.S. Supreme Court and Campaign Finance Laws.

Dean Phoebe Haddon of the University of Maryland’s Francis King Carey School of Law spoke at the Life Member lunch on the topic of "Too Many Lawyers? Too Few Jobs? Bridging the Justice Gap."

A surprise video tribute to ALI Director Lance Liebman was played at the Annual Meeting just before he delivered his remarks.

For his extraordinary contributions to the Institute, Professor Neil B. Cohen of Brooklyn Law School was presented with the John Minor Wisdom Award by Robert A. Stein, Dean Emeritus of the University of Minnesota Law School and former President of the Uniform Law Commission.

ABA President James R. Silkenat addressed the membership on the topic of "Issues for the American Legal Profession."

Amy B. Monahan, a winner of the Young Scholars Medal, presented a talk on "The Law and Politics of Public Pensions." She was Introduction by Justice Goodwin Liu, Chair, Special Committee on the ALI Young Scholars Medal.

The Presentation of the 1989 Class Gift was made by Class Co-Chair Peter A. Winograd on behalf of himself, the class, and his fellow Co-Chairs, Katharine T. Bartlett and Vance K. Opperman.

Please visit this page again. We will continue to add videos from the 91st Annual Meeting over the coming weeks.

No results.

Stephen G. Breyer Pays Tribute to Lance Liebman

U.S. Supreme Court Justice Stephen G. Breyer pays tribute to ALI Director Lance Liebman (1999-2014) at the 2014 ALI Annual Meeting, Liebman's last as ALI Director.

Learn more about The American Law Institute at